HoG Handbook

Types of Hemophilia



The two most common types of hemophilia are hemophilia A and hemophilia B. 

The one you have depends on which of the clotting factor proteins you are missing. 

Remember that people with hemophilia bleed longer because they can't make a fibrin clot.  They lack certain factor proteins needed to form the clot.

In hemophilia A, the missing factor protein is Factor VIII (factor eight).  In hemophilia B, it is Factor IX (factor nine) that is missing.

Hemophilia A is also called:

  • Factor VIII deficiency
  • Classical Hemophilia
  • Standard Hemophilia

Hemophilia B is also called:

Everyone with hemophilia needs to know what type of hemophilia they have.  The medicine you need is different for hemophilia A and hemophilia B.  By knowing which type of hemophilia you have, you can be sure you are getting the right medicine.  Every doctor and nurse you see may not have your records handy to look it up.